Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To dynamic generate the connection between paths
Hi, right now I'm trying to implement the feature to allow "SpineController" switch between 2 "CurvySpline"
problem was the timing should define by the NPC itself.

so the connection wasn't predefined on scene yet, how can I achieve that feature ?

it's my first time try to use this plugin, but I do have some experience on bezier curve.
here is the project I'm working on the yellow gizmos line appear on scene was the feature I'm talking about.
any idea where should I start ?

the logic in video as follow.

1. Assume we got 2 CurvySpline A & B
  2. Get ship current position & rotation on Curve A.
  3. project direction vector based on ship's velocity & heading, and use that point as reference to locate the closest point on Curve B.
    similar to CurvySpline.GetNearestPointTF()
  4. Generate tangent via subdividing. (Not sure how to do that in Curvy)
  5. Travel on temporary path until reaching 100%, switch to Curve B. (Not sure how to do that in Curvy)
okay, I found the function to generate curve at runtime..
here is the shadow code that I think will work

Code:
Transform m_Ship = null; // assume we got this
CurvySpline curveA = null; // assume we got this
CurvySpline curveB = null; // assume we got this

float startTF = curveA.GetNearestPointTF(m_Ship.position, Space.World);
Vector3 startPoint = curveA.GetApproximation(startTF, startTF, true, Space.World)[0]; // Huh ? how to get the closer sample point ?
Vector3 startTangent = m_Ship.forward * 2f; // bias

float endTF = curveB.GetNearestPointTF(startTangent, Space.World);
Vector3 endPoint = curveA.GetApproximation(endTF, endTF, true, Space.World)[0];
Vector3 endTangent = curveA.GetOrientationFast(endTF, false, Space.World) * Vector3.forward;

var curve = CurvySpline.Create();
var start = curve.Add(startPoint, Space.World);