Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Applying Centrifugal Force to Controller
I'm attempting to build a basic vehicle controller to use on curvy splines. It's nothing fancy and doesn't require realistic physics. In fact it is more similar to a pseudo 3d racing controller such as OutRun or RoadRash. My tracks are built with the supplied volume generators and I have enough understanding to manipulate the position and speed along the spline, as well as move my object left and right across the cross range. (Basically I have no problem recreating example 21 Extrusion).

I would however like to apply a basic centrifugal force to my object based on how sharp the turn is (so it doesn't turn corners automatically), but I'm not sure where to start or how to grab that data from the spline as I have never worked with Curvy before.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Hi,
Splines have a tangent at each of their points. So to know how sharp a turn is, compare the tangent of the spline at nearest point to the vehicule with the tangent at let's say half a meter in front of that point.
Here is some helpful documentation
https://api.curvyeditor.com/520/class_fluffy_underware_1_1_curvy_1_1_curvy_spline.html#a12ccd8602d6e470a8ed4fe28452b53a6
Please consider leaving a review for Curvy. This will help a lot keeping Curvy relevant in the eyes of the Asset Store algorithm.
Thanks heaps, I had looked through the tutorials, controller scripts, and documentation but neglected to search the API =/. Silly me.

I do have another issue now though.

I would like to apply consistent speed values when shifting left or right across the cross path of the volume no matter how wide my volume is.
My game is going to have tracks with narrow flat paths, wide open roads with lots of room, curved tunnels that vehicles can drive up the walls and onto the ceiling, as well as tubes that vehicles can drive completely around. Curvy works great for this so far due to the cross clamping options provided.