Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Move spline attached to gameobject.
Hey,

I'm new to using Curvy but I haven't been able to find how one would move a spline in realtime along with a Gameobject. (and if possible, animated)
Example:
I have a crane, with a rope using Curvy, control points are on top of the crane. Moving/rotating the crane will not move my CurvySpline (which is a child).
The Curvyspline gizmo seems to move along but the generated mesh doesn't.

Hierarchy as follows:

Machine
-Crane (has animation)
--CurvySpline
---ControlPoint
---ControlPoint

I've tried just making another Gameobject, attaching a Curvyspline to it and moving the Gameobject. The generated mesh stays put. Can't seem to make my meshes move along their parent..

Is this at all possible? It seems like a no-brainer to have this so I might have just missed it.

Thanks in advance
If you set the Curvy Generator also as a child of the crane, your will get the behavior you expect.

The reason behind the behavior you are facing is that Curvy Generator uses the local positions of the input splines. So when you move the crane, the world position of the control points changes, but their local positions stay the same, thus the generated mesh stays the same.
When the input splines and the generator have the same parent, or even better, the spline is a child of the input spline module, like in the generator's "Shape Extrusion" template, the issue does not appear because moving/rotating the generator will also move/rotate the generated mesh.

Does my answer indeed fix your issue?
Please consider leaving a review for Curvy. This will help a lot keeping Curvy relevant in the eyes of the Asset Store algorithm.
(01-24-2018, 12:23 PM)_Aka_ Wrote: If you set the Curvy Generator also as a child of the crane, your will get the behavior you expect.