Posts: 21
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2016
(10-31-2017, 04:04 PM)Jake Wrote: Hi,
on my PC results of editor playing and standalone exe are the same. The spline uses very few cache points due it's small size. That's why UI Spline was created. To get around this for regular splines, set the Cache PPU (Max. Cache Points per Unit) to a higher value in the global preferences. I changed it from 8 (default) to 20 and raised Cache Density of LauncherSpline to 100 to get somewhat smooth results.
That was the problem! I suspected about spline resolution but didnt knew there was a global settings for curvy

But before finally close this, after compile the project the .exe still have the same problem, like while compiling the game it doesnt take in consideration the Cache PPU settings. I tried deleting the old .exe and compile again but no luck. I tried both on my actual project and on the test I sent to you and both work perfect on editor but the .exe still have the resolution problem. Are there any settings that maybe you have set to maintain the Cache PPU from the editor, or maybe any reason you can think of to make the compile proccess to ignore or change that setting?
Thank you again, I see the light at the end of the tunnel, just the last step
Posts: 21
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,160
Threads: 95
Joined: Jun 2017
Hi,
Did you resolve this issue since?
Posts: 2,160
Threads: 95
Joined: Jun 2017
01-23-2018, 09:37 PM
(This post was last modified: 02-08-2018, 01:29 PM by _Aka_.)
I have some news regarding this issues.
The issue happens because the "Max Cache PPU" value you set the Curvy preferences is not used by the build .exe file.
This is because Curvy uses
Unity's PlayerPrefs class to save the "Max Cache PPU" value. Like
the documentation says, on windows this class saves the value in the registery key HKCU\Software\[company name]\[product name]. What is not said in the documentation, is that when playing the project inside the Unity editor, the value is saved in a different registry key, the HKCU\Software\Unity\[company name]\[product name]
Clearly, Max Cache PPU should be stored via another mechanism. I don't know how yet, and I don't know when this will be done. Until then, a work around would be to edit the HKCU\Software\[company name]\[product name]\Curvy_MaxCachePPU key to make it match the Max Cache PPU from the editor.
Posts: 21
Threads: 2
Joined: Dec 2016
It worked! Finally!! It was exactly that, I know it is not an ideal solution but is not a big deal to change that either.
Thank you so much!! I can finally forget about this annoyance


(01-23-2018, 09:37 PM)_Aka_ Wrote: I have some news regarding this issues.
The issue happens because the "Max Cache PPU" value you set the Curvy preferences is not used by the build .exe file.
This is because Curvy uses Unity's PlayerPrefs class to save the "Max Cache PPU" value. Like the documentation says, on windows this class saves the value in the registery key HKCU\Software\[company name]\[product name]. What is not said in the documentation, is that when playing the project inside the Unity editor, the value is saved in a different registry key, the HKCU\Software\Unity\[company name]\[product name]
Clearly, Max Cache PPU should be stored via another mechanism. I don't know how yet, and I don't know when this will be done. Until then, a work around would be to edit the HKCU\Software\[company name]\[product name]\Curvy_MaxCachePPU key to make it match the Max Cache PPU from the editor.
Posts: 2,160
Threads: 95
Joined: Jun 2017
I real fix for this is now available in Curvy 2.2.3. More about this here:
https://forum.curvyeditor.com/thread-526.html