Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Animating a shape on along a spline will not playback in scene or game views
Hi, I am new to Curvy Splines and have gone through the tutorials to understand how to create splines and generators. I can achieve the creation of a spline and also the creation of a Generator which extrudes a shape along that spline path.

This all works as expected, but when I try to animate the "Shape Extrusion: Build Shape Extrusion.Range.To" Property in the Unity Animation Timeline (I am attaching the animation to the Generator asset), both in the Scene and Game views the animation is not displaying. 

If I manual slide the Range property in the Inspector I can see the desired effect I need, but it will not playback when I click on play in the Animation timeline or the game view. When I play the Scene, I can see the Shape Extrusion: Build Shape Extrusion.Range.To property changing its values in the Inspector panel (as required) but still the extrusion is not animating in the game.

I am building a AR app with a Vuforia AR Camera, and I thought that this might be a problem but I created a new project without Vuforia and imported Curvy Splines 8.6.0 and test the same method on the 28_AsteroidBelt scene, trying to animate the Rasterise Path Length property but it is doing the same thing, nothing is animating when playing the scene. 

I am using Unity 2022.2.16 Editor.

Am I doing something wrong, or am I missing a step?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Hi

TL;DR:
Add this script to your module:
Code:
using FluffyUnderware.Curvy.Generator;
using UnityEngine;

public class Dirtier : MonoBehaviour
{
    void Update() =>
        GetComponent<CGModule>().Dirty = true;
}