Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mesh Deformation vs Mesh extrusion
Hi
I have recently bought Curvy for the new mesh deformation capability but I can't seem to be able to control the scale of this mesh using a curve. However, when I use the mesh extrusion feature then this does have the ability to control the scale of the mesh and also has a curve editor that can be used? I am I missing something that is obvious to other more experienced users or is this capability missing or not working? 

I tried to perform this in the barbed wire example but all I managed to do was scale just one of the meshes by a uniform and not by a gradual in and out.

I did see another post to do with control point scales which is how other spline system appear to work but the thread suggested I write some extra code to read the metadata? I am not a programmer so I am not really sure about what I should do if I even understood if the issue posted was the same as my question.

Is this something that will be added in a future update?

Sorry to be a pain. 

Thank you
Hi

Mesh deformation does not have the same scaling features as the shape extrusion. You can scale the input mesh (https://curvyeditor.com/documentation/generator/modules/inputmesh#trs) or a group of objects (https://curvyeditor.com/documentation/generator/modules/volumespots?#scale) but these scaling are not variable along the spline similarly to the shape extrusion module.

Can you send me an example of what you are trying to achieve, I might be able to implement a quick solution for you. That solution can then be, if it makes sense and after being implemented properly, be part of a future update.

And no, you are not a pain at all. Your questions are very legitimate.

Have a nice day
Please consider leaving a review for Curvy. This will help a lot keeping Curvy relevant in the eyes of the Asset Store algorithm.
(02-26-2022, 12:52 PM)_Aka_ Wrote: Hi